The Everyday Girl Guide to: Life (Intro)

February 20, 2012

“I keep turning over new leaves, and spoiling them, as I used to spoil my copybooks; and I make so many beginnings there will never be an end.” (Jo March)

Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

I am what you might call a Renaissance woman, a jill-of-all-trades, a gypsy of life… I like knowing and trying everything, even the things I end up not liking so very much at all.  This tendency of mine to wander from attraction to attraction has resulted in being moderately well-informed on a wealth of subjects– and an expert on none.

I was in drama in high school and college, plus a few church plays when I grew up.  I follow theatre in a casual way and enjoyed productions such as Les Miserables and Phantom of the Opera on the big stage.  I’m no true theatre maven; I haven’t been to a live show in years.  But if I went to a show tomorrow, I’d enjoy it immensely, have a clue about “stage right” and “sotto voce”, and likely be able to give a review that, if not sounding like a true theatre critic, would at least not sound like a first-time goer.

I grew up playing Zork and other text-based games.  I was on a local BBS (bulletin board system) with a 300 baud modem when it was a truly geeky thing to do.  I’ve played Street Fighter, Everquest, MUDs, MUSHes, MOOs and MMORPGs all with equal enjoyment.  I enjoy games, but I’m not a gamer.

Other areas where I have some experience include music (almost finished a minor), literature (my true major), lifeguarding, truck driving, and organic gardening.  And more.  There’s always more down the road.

All that said, I can write intelligently on quite a few topics (which will likely never include crafts but is slowly expanding to include more and more sports).  So how do I limit myself do just one?

I don’t.  Why should I?

Instead, my goal is to write about what I know (or think I know) at a level that anyone can read.  Hopefully, this will introduce some people to utterly new areas or educate some neophytes in others.  I write everything from the standpoint of a woman who is not girly (but not a feminist, either), who has children, who is part dreamer and part realist, and who bases all her worldviews firmly on the foundation of the Christian Bible.

I’d love to have you around for the ride.

