The Everyday Girl Guide to: Diets (Primal Diet- Day 1)

June 4, 2012

The Primal Blueprint 21-Day Total Body Transformation: A step-by-step, gene reprogramming action plan

Day one of the Primal Diet (per Mark Sisson’s book The Primal Blueprint 21-Day Total Body Transformation.  Here we go!

 

Alright, it doesn’t specifically say to weigh and take measurements (it does say to take a picture, which I tried and promptly decided was a bad idea), but I want to have some objective form of measurement for all three diets.  So, drumroll…

 

  • Height: 5’9″
  • Build: Pear-shaped
  • Weight: 162 lbs
  • Chest (relaxed): 28″
  • Chest (expanded): 31″
  • Neck: 13″
  • Waist: 28″
  • Biceps: 12″
  • Forearms: 9″
  • Hips (whimper): 39″
  • Quads: 23″
  • Calves: 17″

Okay, so a 36″- 26″- 36″ I am not (and never have been… and the chest measurement is UNDER the male definition of a woman’s chest, just FYI).  Not a lot of room for change there; I don’t carry fat on my ribs.  But I can definitely do a lot better in the waist and hips area.

Today, I’m supposed to purge all the SAD (Standard American Diet) foods from the kitchen.  I can’t get rid of everything because I share the kitchen with others, but I have eaten or given away pretty much all of my SAD food and I bought some very basic replacements yesterday: Plain Greek (full-fat) yogurt (one container).  1 dozen organic eggs.  2 Salmon Patties (I’ll explain my limited cooking situation in a moment).  2 cans of no-additives salmon.  One gallon of full-fat organic milk.  So Challenge 1 DONE.

Next I’m supposed to grab a few essentials at the local supermarket.  I still need to get some real veggies, fruit, and nuts, but I just lost my long-term temp assignment, so money is a little tight.  Doing this diet on a very strict budget should be interesting.  I’ll follow the directions and wait until tomorrow to do a major shopping trip at Trader Joe’s and then hit the Farmer’s Market on Wednesday for fresh, local produce.  Yum!  So we’ll say Challenge 2 DONE.

I need to do more movement today.  I had a slow morning, so I didn’t get my dog out for a walk first thing, but I’ll take her for a walk tonight.  I’m also trying to get up and move around every hour or so.  Challenge 3 IN PROGRESS.

Challenge 4 is going to be tough on a tight budget.  I’m supposed to invest in Primal tools.  I’m not going to be buying any of the evening tools to make things dimmer; I’m just going to try to lower the lights and shut off media.  I have or have access to the exercise basics (comfortable clothing, a track to run on, and even a pull-up bar), have decent kitchen basics (but no real stove or oven!), and will now go work on my shopping resources.  I need to find out when the farmer’s market runs and then see how much the internet options cost.  Challenge 4 IN PROGRESS.

I’ll do the journal from the book with my entry for tonight.  Off to work on those resources!

 

