The Everyday Girl Guide to: Diets (Primal Diet- Failed)

June 10, 2012

I did alright at the Primal Diet on Day Three.  I had a minor cheat (half a non-caffeinated soda) and did a different form of exercise than the one in the book, but even the book says to do the exercise that you enjoy and, that day, it was the only kind I could manage.  I walked 7 miles.

I also had a flare-up of my Ulcerative Colitis.  Greens have not been my friend much for several years and this diet is full of lots of greens.  I was moderately ill on Wednesday, but managed to push through my day.

Thursday was worse (and I was on the road).  I was sick enough at one point to think I was going to have one of the spells where I passed out, but managed to ride it out.  I ate very little and was doing better by bedtime, but only marginally.

Friday morning I was ill again, so I just didn’t eat.  No breakfast, no lunch.  I finally had a snack (evil fruit snacks) with my kids in the afternoon and then ate a normal(ish) meal of leftover meat and rolls (yep, gluten) for dinner.

Today, I feel better.  Not 100%, but definitely in the 90% range.   I don’t think I’m even  going to give the other two diets a try, though.  Both rely heavily on certain foods that just don’t agree with me and I really don’t like three days of sickness.

I’ll have to go back to figuring out my own diet.  I was really healthy once, in spite of the UC, so it’s doable.  It just takes effort.

Sorry for those who were looking forward to following my progress.  Here are the parts about the Primal Diet that I do agree with:

  • Our society reviles “fat” far too much.  There is plenty of good fat out there, even in meat, butter, and oil.  The bad fat is the kind that is produced in a factory somewhere (I can always taste it on certain french fries) or that’s hidden in other foods.  I’m going to enjoy my full-fat meat, regular butter (not margarine), normal oils, and full-fat milk when I have them.
  • Our society uses far too many second-string foods.  I’m a big football fan.  You use your best players in every real game unless they’re injured.  You only throw in second-string (or worse) when your best can’t play.  Yet we use fake sugar, high fructose corn syrup, and all manner of processed foods to fill us up on a daily basis.  I already avoid fake sugars and most processed foods, but I’m working on cutting those, HFCS, and all those artificial colors and flavors out completely– or as close as is possible in a “normal” life.
  • I don’t think grains, especially whole grains, are bad, but I do think we put too much emphasis on them.  A plate of pasta… with sauce, maybe a side of veggies.  A bowl of rice with some veggies and meat stirfry.  A huge hunk of bread with some meat and veggies inside… and these are the relatively healthy meals.  I’m not cutting grains out (not when oatmeal tends to keep my stomach surprisingly happy), but I am going to cut them down.
  • Exercise should be enjoyable.  Now, I happen to like running (and I’m training for a 10k), so not running is silly, even though the Primal Diet isn’t a big fan of running outside of speed work.  But I do agree that lots of walking, biking, swimming, and PLAYING should be far more important in my day than getting into the gym.
  • As late as I’m posting this, you may think that I don’t agree with the sunrise to sunset limit on electronics and bright lights, but I actually do.  I’m just not good at it and, in my current living situation, it’s not always very practical.  But I will work on more early nights and earlier mornings; I’ll try to cut down on the heavy dose of media I always find myself immersed in; and I’ll try to stop and smell the roses a little more during the daylight.

So, while the diet itself didn’t work for me, I can’t discount that it could work for others.  I’m certainly going to use parts of it to help build my new “diet” (a lifestyle change, not a fad).

Maybe I’ll even eventually give up coffeehouse drinks.

2 Responses to “The Everyday Girl Guide to: Diets (Primal Diet- Failed)”

  1. jake Says:

    Hey nice blog and Intersting post 🙂 I also have a nutrition based blog 🙂 and would really like it if you took a look and maybe followed me 🙂 thankyou

  2. Mike Says:

    I’ve stuck with the Paleo or Primal diet and have been very happey with the results. I wrote an article about my experience here if anyone is interested. http://mikeshonestreviews.com/paleoprimal-diet-review


Comments are closed.

