The Everyday Girl Guide to: New Year’s Resolutions

December 29, 2012

I’m a list girl.  I love lists.  I love goals.  I like to make goals, on lists, and check them off.  New Year’s Resolutions should be my thing, right?

Well, yes and no.

I don’t like big, sweeping resolutions that you have to wait a full year to see progress in.  I absolutely hate waiting that long for anything.  Life should be broken down into manageable chunks so you regularly have the joy of saying, “I DID THAT!”

So that’s what I’m going to do.  I don’t have New Year’s Resolutions.  I have a very detailed list of my goals for the next three months.  There are five major categories: spiritual, mental, physical, financial, and relational.  Each category may have up to three sub-categories.  Then each sub-category will have three goals (three months, right?).  In the Bible, three is the number that means “complete” (thank you, Pastor Epler!).  I like three.  So there will be lots of threes in my list.

I’m going to have trouble with some of these.  I won’t complete them all… and that’s okay.  I’ll need to have a new set of goals in three months and this will give me a place to start.  I’d love to be held accountable for this list, though.  Want to come along on my journey?

THE LIST: January 2013 to March 2013

SPIRITUAL: God

  1. Talk to Him every morning and dedicate my day.
  2. Talk to Him every evening and thank Him for the day.
  3. Keep an actual prayer list (on my phone, maybe?).

SPIRITUAL: Bible

  1. Keep up on my through the Bible in one year plan.
  2. Do the Beth Moore Bible study in my drawer (’cause it’s doing no good in there!)
  3. Memorize one verse a month (preferably a chunk).  I can up my game later.

SPIRITUAL: Church

  1. Join a church instead of attending haphazardly.
  2. Volunteer at said church.
  3. Tithe at said church.  (Probably going to put this one under financial, too.)

MENTAL- Learning

  1. Recertify in CPR and First Aid for the professional rescuer.
  2. Research and decide on a fitness/ wellness certification program.
  3. Read three books on Colitis and managing the disease.

MENTAL- Reading

  1. Time to get back to the classics.  Since I just watched Les Miserables, re-read the book (Victor Hugo).
  2. Re-read the English side of Les Mis, A Tale of Two Cities (Charles Dickens).
  3. Read George Orwell’s 1984.  How have I gone this long without reading it, anyway?

MENTAL- Creative

  1. Journal daily (also part of fitness).  Note to self: buy a good journal!
  2. Blog at least two times a week.
  3. Sing (not the kind you do in the shower) at least once a week and find somewhere to perform: karaoke, church, quincineras, whatever.

PHYSICAL- Exercise

  1. Have a minimum of one hour of activity six days a week (see that journal to keep track).
  2. Join a gym.
  3. Be able to do by the end:
  • 30 situps/ crunches
  • 30 pushups (not the girly kind)
  • 30 dips
  • 30 squats with proper form
  • 30 lunges
  • Sub-10 minute mile
  • 5 miles without walking

PHYSICAL- Nutrition

  1. Do a one-month cleanse. Figure out foods that harm me (see journal!)
  2. Drink 70 oz of water/ day. Would be good to have non-BPA bottles at work AND at home.
  3. Eat 5 servings of vegetables and 2 servings of fruit each day.

PHYSICAL- General

  1. Sleep 6-8 hours every night.  Never repeat less than six hours two nights in a row.
  2. Get sunlight (weather permitting) at least four days each week.
  3. Keep a health journal (within the regular journal?)

FINANCIAL- Debt

  1. Pay off OB CC.
  2. Pay off T CC.
  3. Pay down SF debt by $500.

FINANCIAL- Planning

  1. Make a real budget.
  2. Log ALL expenditures.  (Make or buy an expenses log)
  3. Put $100 into savings.

FINANCIAL- Other

  1. Resolve 401k issues.
  2. Tithe.  Period.
  3. NO impulse buying.

RELATIONSHIPS- Friends

  1. Have at least one get-together with Connie Carlson Sloan.
  2. Have at least one get-together with Angela Stantorf.
  3. Have at least one get-together with Matthew Page.

RELATIONSHIPS- Kids

  1. Have at least one date-night per kid.
  2. Have Darian’s SuperBowl party.
  3. Go whale watching.

RELATIONSHIPS- General

  1. Vegas Mingle with friends.
  2. Visit with Vegas friends OUTSIDE the Mingle.
  3. Spend one night a week hanging out with Kisner clan.

HOME

  1. Get a good bed setup for the kids.
  2. Make kitchen more cooking-friendly.
  3. Do an-indepth spring cleaning.

Okay, the last one didn’t have three divisions and it looks a little vague, but, overall, this list is fairly specific and very doable.  As time goes by, I will update where I’m at and, hopefully, inspire someone to make their own resolutions a reality.

Happy New Year!

