The Everyday Girl Guide to: Dexotifying Your Body (The Wrap)

January 28, 2013

So, overall, the detox has been a success, but I’m not doing 30 days.  I think I stopped somewhere around day 21, bored with it and ready to move on.  This doesn’t mean that I didn’t take anything away from it.

  • My current lifestyle is not conducive to keeping any sort of journal, but especially a health journal.  I can see where they would be useful, but I actually relaxed more once I told myself I didn’t have to write everything down.
  • Drinking more water is a definite plus; I can feel the fatigue go down the closer I get to my goal of 70 ounces.  I also like the lemon water (I think I’d like it better warm but don’t have the ability to warm it right now).  I’ve found a weakness in tea lattes, but I think it’s at least a step up from blended coffee drinks.  I have managed to give up soda entirely and don’t miss it.
  • I largely kept to the no processed, only whole foods.  Yeah, I had the occasional slip-up, especially toward the end.  Did I mention 30 days is a long time?  I found some processed foods too salty now and some far too sweet.  I will try to stick with the whole foods thing.
  • I really like honey and molasses better than white sugar (or even brown sugar).  I’m thrilled, as I have young kids who like sweets.  This way, we can at least work towards healthier, limited sweets.
  • Dry skin brushing: ick.  I like my loofah in the shower, but the dry skin thing isn’t happening.
  • I’m using my gym now, although I still like my home-based workouts just as much.
  • There are a ton of detox concepts out there and most of them are the same, plus some very soft science or the attempt to sell you their product.  I like the one I used because there weren’t any real gimmicks and most of the ideas are fairly well-backed by science.
  • Very hard time with the farmers’ market, local CSA (can only do the pickup on Tuesdays in the middle of the day??), and local suppliers, but I’ll keep working on this one.  I did use Trader Joe’s, the local health food store, and the organic area of supermarkets.
  • No aromatherapy, but I’m still making a go of yoga once a week.  I’d like to try the class at the gym, but haven’t made it there due to my schedule.
  • I love my grass-fed beef source and use it regularly.  I haven’t purchased “regular” beef in a while.  I still need a better source for chicken and fish.
  • Quinoa, buckwheat, and wild rice are all awesome.  I can happily use these in place of my normal grains (never a huge bread person).  I’ll have to adapt recipes here and there to figure out some baked items, but overall, these work.
  • Facial, getting outside to play, both better.  Bed earlier and one day of fasting each week, not as much.  I still want to try, though, and plan to do another series on prayer and fasting after a break.
  • I did cut out dairy (switched to almond milk) and cut down on eggs, but I was feeling the lack of protein and pulled free-range eggs back in.  I would like to find a whole milk source, but will settle for limited organic milk and keep with the almond milk.
  • I love spices.  I can’t believe I let myself forget how much I love them.  Cinnamon is a mainstay, along with cilantro, lemongrass, pepper… I’ll buy more as I can afford it, but there will definitely be more spices.
  • I’m making a huge effort to avoid GMOs and additives.  My sinuses seem to be doing better and I didn’t have a breakout when I normally do, so it may have made a difference.  I never did get a massage though.  Someday…
  • I haven’t figured out a way to make my own juices; no room for a juicer and no money for it.  I do try to buy freshly made juice once a week, though, and substitute fruit and vegetable smoothies (like Naked Juice) for the occasional meal.  I also haven’t checked my pH, even though I have a resource for it.  Finances…
  • At some point in the future, I’m going to do the five day cleanse as described, but I was OVER this cleanse before I ever got to the five-day.

I will do this again.  Not I would, but I will.  I just don’t think it will ever be 30 days.  21 days appears to be my limit, but a good 5-7 cleanse like what should’ve been done toward the end would be awesome.  Maybe next January.  Until then, I’ve learned a lot, will take away a lot, and lost 3 pounds.  I’m pretty content with the results.  Did anyone else try this?

