A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Introduction)

February 1, 2013

So, I decided after the “30 day” cleanse that I tend to get bored with extreme ideas after about three weeks, or 21 days.  This is odd, since a lot of books and websites about how to change your habits say it takes 21 days.  Still, I’m going to use it to my advantage.

This is the first series of 21 day “experiments” where I’ll go all out into something.  I will live, eat, breathe, and sleep a topic until I’ve (hopefully) exhausted it, picked up some new habits I want to keep, and debunked a few ideas I never want to try again.

This series is on Minimalism.  “Minimalism” according to the six self-avowed minimalists interviewed by Naomi Seldin of TimesUnion.com, basically comes down to knowing what “enough” is and paring down your life to get there.

My journey started at www.theminimalists.com/21days; that site was the framework for my own 21 day challenge.  I enhanced it through the books Give It Up! My Year of Learning to Live Better With Less (Mary Carlomagno) and Enough: Discovering Joy Through Simplicity and Generosity (Adam Hamilton).  I’m going to couple it with prayer and fasting, as both of those are also, to an extent, about giving things up so you can have more.

Each day will have a step towards minimalising my life, a series of Bible verses, and a few study questions.  Then I’ll have a prayer focus for that day with verse, what I’m giving up, and possibly a fast.

You are welcome to come along with me.  Follow a day behind if you like; I’ll try to put up each day’s entry the night before so you have something to go on, but I’ll list the rough outline in the next section.  This is supposed to be part of Day 2, but I hate going into anything not knowing what I plan to do.  Call me Type A if you must…

So, here goes my foray into Minimalism.  It’s not about the end result, either.  It’s about each step of the journey.

