A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (The Plan)

February 1, 2013

This is just a day-by-day general outline of each of the 21 days.  For details, please see each individual day.  I’ll add links as I go.

  1. “Should” vs “Must” (Motivation).  Pray for commitment and give up whining. Give up: whining.  Verse: 2 Chronicles 7:14
  2. Get the Vision (Planning).  Pray for the plan to glorify God.  Give up: credit/ debit cards.  Verse: Matthew 6:16-18.
  3. Take Action (Pack It Up).  Pray for the United States and the President.  Give up: sarcasm. Verse: Matt 9:14-15.
  4. Decisions (Take Ownership).  Pray for a forgiving spirit. Give up: bitterness (the past).  Verse: Hebrews 12:14-15.  PARTIAL FAST: sunset 2/4 to noon 2/5.
  5. Where is My Idol? (Entertainment).  Pray for a discerning spirit. Give up: TV/media fast for 24 hours, then keep TV at 2 hours/ week maximum for remainder of challenge.  Verse: Acts 13:2.
  6. Fear.  Pray for California and its leaders.  Give up: fear (the present).  Verse: Luke 18:9-14.
  7. Support.  Pray for finances.  Give up: control of “my” money. Verse: Matthew 25:34-40.
  8. Letting Go (Peace).  Pray for peace & safety.  Give up: ownership.  Verse: Matthew 25:14-21.
  9. Sell It.  Pray for my church.  Give up: ambition.  Verse: Acts 10:30.
  10. Donate It.  Pray for my workplace.  Give up: anger.  Verse: Colossians 3:23.
  11. Know What & Why I Believe.  Pray for my Godly mission.  Give up: control (the future).  Verse: 1 Samuel 1:17-18.
  12. Growth.  Pray for my mom & sisters.  Give up: settling.  Verse: Luke 2:37.
  13. Food.  Pray for my oldest child.  Give up: food (2-day juice/water fast).  Verse: Joel 2:12.
  14. Give It Away. Pray for my second child.  Give up: quitting.  Verse: Nehemiah 1:4.
  15. Sentimentality.  Pray for my third child.   Give up: sentimentality.  Verse: Daniel 9:3.
  16. Debt.  Pray for my fourth child.  Give up: debt as an option ever again.  Verse: Daniel 9:20.
  17. The Car.  Pray for the nation’s economy.  Give up: ownership of transportation.  Verse:  Psalms 17:5.
  18. The Home.  Pray for those who are homeless.  Give up: ownership of a home.  Verse: Mark 10:29-30.
  19. Ready for My Mission.  Pray for the unsaved.  Give up: being entitled.  Verse: Proverbs 11.
  20. Health.  Prayer of gratitude for my health; pray for those sick around me.  Give up: my Sabbath/ rest day.  Verse: Mark 2:23-28.
  21. Reflection.  Prayer to learn to wait on God’s timing.  Verse: Isaiah 40:31.
