A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 2- Vision)

February 2, 2013

Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.  Proverbs 29:18

I need a vision and a plan.  Today I’m getting out a calendar and putting everything on it, day-by-day.  My key concept and verse.  What I’m giving up and what I’m praying for.  Each day will be detailed.

Now, the thing about having a vision and a plan (I’ve learned the hard way) is that I have to be flexible enough to change as circumstances dictate.  So, yeah, maybe I won’t do exact what the plan says.  Just having a plan to try to stick to is the important part.

What is my life purpose?

My purpose is to serve God, be a witness to His awesomeness, and raise my children to know Him.  Everything else is filler, either to get me to my purpose or to distract me from reaching it.

What are three goals to  help me reach this purpose?

  1. Know God, through prayer and Bible study
  2. Serve God each and every day to the fullest of my abilities
  3. Teach my kids about God through word and example

Make a budget (no, I will not list it here).  I’m basing it on Dave Ramsey’s The Total Money Makeover– roughly.

  • Housing 30%
  • Transportation 15%
  • Tithe 10%
  • Food 10%
  • Savings 10%
  • Utilities 5%
  • Health 5%
  • Clothing 5%
  • Charity 5%
  • Miscellaneous 5%

Some modifications for me: because I’m living in the same home with all my family, my housing (fortunately), only equals roughly 5% of my monthly income.  My transportation (even with no car), is 17%.  Tithe stays the same.  How is food supposed to be 10%?  I’m fairly certain I would be nutritionally deficient and starving.  Food will be 15-20%.  Savings is currently debt payoff at 10%.  Utilities is only my phone right now; I need to find a slightly cheaper plan or it will be just over 5%.  (That’s really sad).  Having the rest at 5% should do, although this will make dates with the kids and birthdays rough.

For prayer, I’m reading Matthew 6:16-18 and praying over the times I will be fasting (that I will do it with wisdom).

I’m giving up discretional spending for the remainder of the 21 days except for my son’s birthday party on Sunday.  I even gave my sister my debit card and the grocery money for next week.  I’m already feeling fidgety about it.

On the up side, I did go grocery shopping last night and managed to stay within my budgeted amount, although I had to give up some things I really wanted (for health reasons).  I’m going to have to modify my menu until it’s more affordable.

