A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 3- Pack It Up)

February 3, 2013

Today is supposed to be an action day, but I get to slide through a bit.

See, today I’m supposed to pack up all my stuff and only get out what I absolutely need to use.

Three years ago, when I moved back to California from Illinois, I packed up everything.  I still have most of that stuff in storage (except for what I’ve sold over time).

The good news is that today should be a pretty easy day.

The bad news is that I’m gonna have to get rid of everything in that storage unit.  If I didn’t use it in three years, I probably won’t ever use it.

I’m going to use this extra time, instead, to work on contentment.  I need to remember the following:

  1. It could be worse (and has been).
  2. How long would a new situation/ item make me truly happy?
  3. I need to be grateful for what I have (see I Thessalonians 5:18)
  4. I need to ask myself where my soul finds true satisfaction (see Psalms 63:1-6 and Philippians 4:12-13).

For each remaining day, I need to list at least one thing for which I am grateful.  Today, I am grateful for my children.  My seventeen-year marriage will never have been a waste of my time because I have been blessed by the four children it produced.  My oldest (a teenager) still shares his life with me.  My second cares so deeply about me that he feels my pain (not always a good thing).  My third is a pure ray of sunshine.  My youngest, only girl, is so generous that she puts me to shame.

I am going to pray for our president and nation today; I believe both need it desperately and I need to remember that either the president is who God has chosen for our nation or our nation is not currently walking with God and deserves who they get.

I am trying to give up sarcasm for the remaining 19 days.  Being completely honest, this may be the hardest thing for me to give up of all!

Are you trying this along with me?  If so… time to get packing!

