A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 4- Decisions)

February 4, 2013

I’m going to have boxes and such start appearing from storage for the next few days.  I’ll have to go through and make absolutely certain that I don’t need what is in those boxes; then I’m selling everything on Saturday at a garage sale.

I’m a little scared, to be honest.  I don’t have a lot of discretionary income, so replacing anything will be tough.  Then again, what good is it doing me in storage?

Somehow, even at my low-income status, I need to find a way to live below my means.

My first option for entertainment should be free.  The only second option should be cheap… unless I can get paid to be entertained.  That’s happened in the past.

There is plenty of good clothing at Goodwill (or garage sales) that is gently worn and well-priced.  I should never be shopping in a mall and rarely in a store for that clothing.

Food is a necessity.  Healthy food may be more expensive than some of the processed junk, but I can make inexpensive work by carefully making menus, grocery lists, and budgets.

My cell phone is a necessity because of my kids, but the plan itself is not.  I need to find a cheaper plan, even if I have to go back to an old-fashioned style.

Before I buy anything, I need to ask myself if I really need a replacement.  Use something up before buying something new.

I have two birthday parties that will require some creative budgeting this month.  Outside of that, I need to commit to a spending fast on anything but consummables.  I’m honestly not sure if I can do it, but I’m going to try.

After reading Hebrews 13:5-6, what is my motivation and empowerment for being content with what I have?  Just God.  That is my ultimate empowerment.

Today, I am grateful for having a home to live in, even if it’s not my own, and a bed to sleep in, even if it’s in a living room.  I could be on the street.  I could be in a shelter.  I have a place to lay my head at night.

I am praying that I learn to practice true forgiveneness and I am giving up bitterness (my past).

Tomorrow, I am going to do a partial fast from sundown (Monday night) until noon (Tuesday day).  When I am hungry, I will use the reminder to pray for those who are always hungry and to remember the blessings I have.

