A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 5- Entertainment)

February 5, 2013

It’s time for a part I haven’t really been looking forward to in this process.  I tend to hoard my entertainment, whether movies, internet time, music or books.  But that defeats the whole purpose of minimalism, right?  Am I more attached to these things than to people?  I might have to answer “yes”, which is really not where I want to be.

So, for today, I’m going through my TV shows on Hulu, my Twitter follows, movies and music I own, and books; I can keep only what is actually serving a useful purpose per Phillipians 4:8: whatever is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent or praiseworthy, think on these things (paraphrased).

I won’t be doing this all at once, because it’s going to take some time to determine what all of those things mean to me, but I will be doing it over this entire process (and probably for the rest of my life).  There are some things that are obvious, though.  Movies that glorify violence need to go.  Shows that glorify promiscuity, same.  Angry music (especially since music has such an impact on my mood) should never have been there.

Per Ecclesiastes 2:10-11, I also need to determine what is wasted time, “vanity and a chasing after wind”.  There is plenty of that.  I suppose the movie I watched last night, Warm Bodies, was that, although I did get some social time with a friend out of it.  The hardest part isn’t realising that there are lines; the hardest part is where to draw them.

I’m actually struggling with typing this, but I’m going to assign myself a media fast through Thursday night.  I can clear my Twitter feed, not read it.  I can’t touch my Hulu queue or watch live television.  Social sites are limited to an hour a day, including entering my blog updates.  I can’t touch my phone before 6:30am (except for my devotional reading that is on my Bible app) or after 9:30pm.

These things are too important to me if I’m struggling to give them up, so give them up I must.  Really, I feel slightly shaky about it.  Guess that’s a sign.

I’m going to continue praying for a spirit of forgiveness because I’ve discovered I have a lot to forgive (others and myself).  Minimalism shouldn’t just be about what you carry physically; the stuff inside is far more important.

Here goes nothing…

