A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 6- Fear)

February 7, 2013

I hit a huge brick wall trying to go through my stuff from storage.  I would open a box, pull out an item or two, get teary, and put everything back.  I did that with several boxes and finally just gave up and stopped.

What am I afraid of?  What am I holding onto?  This is stuff I haven’t used for well over a year and have used minimally (if at all) in the last four years.

Well, for one, I’m afraid I may actually start getting my life together and then I’ll need that stuff.  I certainly won’t have the money to buy new things if/when I’m able to move out on my own.   So a little bit of hanging on isn’t such a bad thing. 

I’m also afraid of letting go of the memories.  My memory is very associative.  Items trigger entire days in my mind.  If I get rid of the trinkets my kids made for me, will I forget exactly how they looked when they gave it?

Finally, I think I’m afraid of not having that buffer.  Stuff is a buffer.  Books, especially, but also movies and music to an extent, are an escape from the life I’m currently stuck in.  I shouldn’t be doing that, first of all.  I should be finding the growth in this life.  But even if I do feel the need to get away, I can get books from the library for free, music on the radio or an app, movies from the library, Netflix, Blockbuster, RedBox… so why hold onto the one I own?

I read Proverbs 30:7-9, which basically says to not make me rich (so I’d think I don’t need God) or poor (so I’m tempted to steal).  There’s a balance somewhere in between there, where I have enough and, maybe, give away the extra.  How do I get there?

  1. No credit cards and no debt.  It’s easier to get from paycheck to paycheck when you don’t owe half a paycheck (or more) to your creditors.
  2. Own less.  What you own, in a way, owns you.  You have to worry about upkeep, payments, providing space for it.  I have no home to upkeep, no car to perform maintenance on.  Those are huge bills that I don’t have to worry about.
  3. Keep a budget and stick to it.  If I ever get to where I have enough money, then some of it should be going to charity.  Right now, I’m stuck largely being my own charity project, but I can, on occasion, help out those who have even less than I do.

Greed is idolatry.  It’s the worship of money over God.  Covetousness is the step-brother of greed.  I don’t want to give into either of those.

I am thankful today that I’m not starving, not homeless, and can occasionally do nice things for my kids.  I’m giving up these fears and going to tackle my boxes.  I pray for the strength from God to hold true to this.

One Response to “A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 6- Fear)”

  1. Madryt Says:

    You are a very smart person!


Comments are closed.

