A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 10- Donate It)

February 10, 2013

Yesterday, I got a jump on this and took my entire donation pile to Goodwill.  It wasn’t really much: a bunch of clothing, books, videos, some household stuff.  But it was stuff that I thought I needed, once upon a time.

I read Mark 12:41-44.  The widow gave sacrificially: she gave in a way that would cause her at least some discomfort.  I tried to do the same when I gave my donations.  There were items that, at some point, I may have to buy again.  But I don’t need them right now and maybe someone else does.

I don’t have a lot of money or stuff to give; I don’t even have a lot of free time, with my commute.  But I can find a way to give of myself sacrificially.  I used to volunteer at church, but missed a couple of times and quit so they wouldn’t have to depend on me (I used to be dependable, too.  I’m not liking what this foray into minimalism has revealed about how my character has changed).  I need to get back to volunteering.

I’m supposed to be giving up multitasking for the remainder of my 21 days (11 more).  I’m not sure what possessed me to decide this, but I’m going to try to stick to it.  If I’m having a conversation, there is nothing but the conversation.  If I’m reading, I just read.  If I eat, I just eat (this is supposed to be healthier anyway).  Hopefully if I focus on the moment, the person, the action, I will appreciate it more.

I am so grateful today for the bike that was given to me.  I get around town faster, get to work with less stress, and get exercise doing it.  I never thought I’d be grateful for not having a car, but I am.

