A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 9- Sell It)

February 10, 2013

The intention was to sell most of my stuff today, keeping only the necessities.  I learned two things:

One, I don’t have much left that anyone would want to buy.  I donated a bit to Goodwill, but I have only three small piles I might be able to sell.

Two, people don’t want to come to garage sales if you don’t have much to sell.

That said, instead of selling anything at all, I’ve set aside two items (my VHS player and all the tapes that go with it and my Wii and the three games that go with it) and am going to try to sell them on Craigslist.  If I sell them, I’ll pay tithe from the proceeds.  If I don’t, well, I did get rid of two boxes of trash and donated a bit to Goodwill, so at least there’s that.  Whatever my decisions, I’ll try to remember 2 Corinthians 9:6-7 and sow generously.

I’ve been thinking about how little of my time goes toward prayer and Bible study.  If God is my focus, then it’s no wonder I tend to have no sense of direction.  I don’t make Him my daily goal.  I need to work on this.  I have a daily Bible reading program and I tend to get in quite a bit of prayer while biking (not much else to do), but there needs to be more.

What percentage of my income currently goes toward charity?  Honestly, none.  I haven’t even paid tithes for a while.  It seems like whenever I finally get my life in order to be able to tithe and give, new bills pop up.  I don’t know how to make this work at the moment and it’s driving me crazy.  Somehow I need to make my budget even tighter… and I can’t seem to.  I used to be very good at this.

I’m grateful that I had anything to donate at all today.  I could have less.  I just need to remember that.

