A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 11- Know What & Why I Believe)

February 11, 2013

I’m going back over my original motivation and life purpose statements today.  Those are the clearest definitions I could come up with at the time for what I believed.  Lots of people know what they believe.  Today, I need to figure out why I believe.

Why do I believe in God?  I’ve seen Him work in my life and others and I know what a mess I would be without Him.  That last always sounds so trite, but I’ve gone through anger issues, a minor case of obsessive-compulsive disorder, and strongly considering suicide.  I don’t care what aetheists say about how they don’t murder because they’re not a murderer; I am still alive solely because I am a Christian, not because of any inate awesomeness on my part.

Why are my kids important to me?  I’ve always wanted kids.  I wanted to be a mom, the best mom I could be, and raise up awesome kids.  Here’s the amazing thing: I made a lot of mistakes.  Some really big ones, in fact, like putting them through a divorce.  My kids are still awesome.  I’m still so proud to be their mom.  They are important to me because maybe, just maybe, they can not make my mistakes when they grow up.  Maybe they can impact the world in a way I haven’t.  Most of all, though, just because they are my kids.  They love me unconditionally and they bring out the very best in me.

Why do I want to stay healthy?  I was unhealthy for a very brief period of my life.  I ate poorly, drank whatever I wanted, didn’t get exercise.  I gained forty pounds, felt terrible about myself, was sick often, and had wild mood swings.  (Hush.  Yes, I still have those sometimes, but they really are better).  I want to stay healthy for my kids… to be able to play football with them or chase them around a park.  I want to stay healthy for my kids in the future, too, so I’m still around when they make those awesome achievements.  I want to stay healthy for myself, so that I like who I am.  I want to stay healthy as an example to others.

I think this has been one of the better entries for me.  I like knowing why I believe what I believe.  I think I knew it all along, I’d just never put it into words.

I’ll leave you with Proverbs 27:23-24

23 Be sure you know the condition of your flocks,
give careful attention to your herds;
24 for riches do not endure forever,
and a crown is not secure for all generations.

I am grateful to know the condition of what I’ve been entrusted with.  Yes, I still need work, but at least I know what and why I am working toward.

