A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 14: Give It Away)

February 17, 2013

I’ve gotten way to grasp-y with my stuff.  I hold onto things I don’t even really need.

For example, today there was a man panhandling.  He looked like he could use the money.  I had $5 in my wallet.  But I really didn’t want to give it to him.

Thanks so this minimalism period, I did convince myself to go do it, but it was hard.  How often do I hang onto things just because I might need it when other people really do need it?

Proverbs 21:20 says the wealth have luxury, but the fool spends whatever he gets.  I don’t really want luxury or wealth, but I do want to stop just spending whatever I get on frivolous things I don’t need.

As a reminder to myself and you: I need to be out of debt to have the most freedom with my life.  I need to have a small savings account to have less worry in my life.  I need to be generous to have the most blessings in my life.

I want all three of those, but I won’t get them as long as I’m being foolish and making my money disappear like morning fog.  Time to get hard-core about this.

I don’t want to tell my kids that we need to cut out spending for a while, but I need to… the rewards are too great.

Time to make the changes that make my life worth living.

