A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Days 17 & 18- Car & Home)

February 18, 2013

I do not own a car.  I do not own a home.

I bought my first car (with cash) when I wasn’t quite 17.  I bought my first home when I was 28.  I’m not used to not having my own car and own home.

However, I’ve discovered some great advantages to not having either right now.

I have no mortgage or car payments and I pay minimal rent.  I do have to maintain my bike, pay for public transportation, and occasionally be inconvenienced by borrowing a car.  I have to share a home.  But I have no upkeep on a car or home, either.  No insurance.  My life is not wrapped up in either.

Not having a car or a home makes it easier to reach my financial goals.  I’ve grown and gotten less proud.

Per 1 Timothy 6:17, I need to keep my trust in God, not in the things of this world.  I was very dependent on my car and home (especially my car).  Now I’m learning not to be.

I don’t want to get back to where I was.  I want to be on guard, as Luke 12:15 says, against any kind of greed, even such a useful one as a car or a home.  Life is not measured by how much I own.

