A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 21- Wrapping It Up)

February 21, 2013

So, minimalism wasn’t such a big stretch, really, because my life is already pretty minimalised.  I did learn a few things, though:

1.  I hang onto photos, papers, and sentimental pieces more than I thought I did.

2.  I’m not as minimalist in food as I’d like to be.

3.  Minimalism is on-going; just because I’ve reached the end of the 21 days doesn’t mean it stops here.

As I move on, I was thinking about not only what I’ve learned from this, but also where I should go from here.

What’s my mission?  Strictly speaking, it should be the Great Commission:

15 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation. 16 Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.  Mark 16:15-16

My mission field is a little closer to home; I have four amazing children who need to know the gospel well enough to withstand the pressures of this world around them.  I also have friends and other family members who aren’t saved.  This, not some exotic, foreign location, is my mission field.  But my mission is also the care of the earth, something that a lot of Christians are known to let slide, and the care of this body, God’s temple.

How do I perform my mission successfully?

1.  Make sure my job, if not enhancing my mission, at least doesn’t deter from it.  Is it just a job (gotta pay the bills), a career (love what I do, although it doesn’t utilize all my talents), or a mission (this is what I was made to do)?

2.  Make a list of what I want to be remembered for.  I want to be remembered through the people my kids become, but I also want to share my music and writing.

3.  I have to eliminate debt if I want to focus on my mission.  Right now, I have to focus on paying people.  I have no freedom to do what I want/need to do.  I want the kind of success found in Proverbs 11.

I’m not sure I’ve attained minimalism, but I think I’m closer.  Maybe I’ll return to this lesson one day; maybe I’ll just keep growing in it as part of my daily life.  Either way, I hope I’ve learned a little bit about cutting down consumption and appreciating what I have, but also about having a goal and striving to get there.  It’s all baby steps.

One Response to “A Year of 21 Days: Minimalism (Day 21- Wrapping It Up)”


  1. Congratulations on completing the challenge! I found it so cool to read about what you did – I’m embarking on my own journey these days and there also seems to be a wider movement on the internet toward minimalism. Loving it!


Comments are closed.

