A Year of 21 Days: Beauty (Day 1- Character)

March 1, 2013

Possibly one of the most disputed definitions in the world is what defines beauty.  Women want to attain it.  Men want to possess it.  Even little children are drawn to it.  But what is it?

A dictionary definition of beauty is:

  • A combination of qualities, such as shape, color, or form, that pleases the aesthetic senses, esp. the sight.
  • A combination of qualities that pleases the intellect or moral sense.

Every year, People Magazine lists their “Most Beautiful People”.  A Time Magazine article once found that Denzel Washington, considered by many to be one of the most beautiful people in the world, had an almost perfectly symmetrical face, suggesting that symmetry equals beauty.

The Bible, however, has a different definition of what a woman should be.  It’s a beauty of character, not just external features.

I thought, however, that I’d throw in an external beauty tip with each day, just for the fun of it.

Proverbs 31:10 says, “Who can find a virtuous and capable wife?  She is more precious than rubies.”  Even in Biblical times, a woman of virtue was hard to come by.  Nowadays,  maybe it’s even harder, making a woman of virtue even more precious.  Other versions have “noble character.”

Character plays a huge role in beauty.  There’s the handsome man who is arrogant, the gorgeous woman who is an airhead, or the plain woman who is funny enough to be attractive in spite of her looks.  Biblical beauty makes character even more important.

Character in beauty becomes more important as you age.  Everyone loses looks, to an extent, as they age, but character can go up or down.  While I admit that I’m shallow enough to try to keep myself young-looking and healthy as long as possible, I also want to work on my character as I age.

So, for today, I will work on my character.  I’ll work on each step after this.

 

Beauty tip: coffee makes a great body scrub.  The grounds provide exfoliation while the caffeine gives a boost at the cellular level.  Try this scrub to give your skin a younger-looking boost.

