A Year of 21 Days: Beauty (Day 8- Taking Care of Me)

March 8, 2013

Proverbs 31:17

She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks.

I really think, when it comes to beauty (or being obedient to God), we women forget this one the most often.  I know I did for a while.  As a homeschooling, stay-at-home mom with a part-time job that I took my kids to, I was always on the clock.  I volunteered extensively at church, wrote up curriculum, helped launch a homeschool group, and taught classes.  I also ran myself down, got bronchitis twice a year, and hovered just above a healthy weight range (only because my job was very active and I never sat down).

While married men tend to live longer than their single counterparts, married women tend to live shorter, less healthy lives than their single counterparts.  Being wife, mother, employee, housekeeper, etc. wears women down… and then they’re too busy to take care of themselves, too.

Proverbs calls for women to be strong for their tasks; you can’t do that if you’re always worn down and exhausted.  There are five small steps you can take right now:

  • Guard your sleep.  If you have a late night one night and can’t sleep in a bit the next day, make sure the next evening has nothing scheduled so you can get back on track.
  • Eat the majority of your meals sitting down at the table.  Yep, this is a hard one for me, too.  Do it anyway.  Instead of eating while you drive, eating while you get lunches ready, or skipping meals altogether (only to binge later on something unhealthy), take the extra fifteen minutes to sit down and eat with family.
  • Get a minimum of thirty minutes of physical activity each day.  Can’t make it to the gym?  Do a bodyweight workout in small increments (10 minutes here and there).  Take a walk at lunch.  Get up every hour or so at work and just stretch.  This is the bare minimum for health.
  • Foster relationships with girlfriends, but don’t say yes to everything.  It’s hard; the more friends you have, the more obligations you must meet.  Figure out a few close friends and try to always make their plans a priority; for everyone else, be willing to say no unless your schedule is empty.
  • Take time to relax, meditate, pray… for me it’s prayer.  If I take the time to slow down and pray, I relax.  If you find yourself falling asleep everytime you slow down, then maybe you’re not getting enough sleep.

You will be stuck with this body for the rest of your life; if you don’t take care of it, some of the damage is hard to repair.  Just take care of it from the beginning and make your job easier in the future.

