The Everyday Girl Guide to: James and My Life (James 1:22-25)

June 27, 2013

I used to be one of those people who did everything at church.  I taught the kids’ choir.  I counted once a month.  I was on the praise team.  I cooked Wednesday night dinner once a month.  I did Powerpoint.  But works not only weren’t going to save me, but they actually made me tired, grumpy, and stressed.

On the other hand, I’ve seen Christians who talk the talk… as they’re walking right past a homeless person without even offering a smile.  I’ve seen women who are so busy at church functions that they can’t spend time with their children (yeah, that was me for a while, too).  I’ve seen men who use church as an excuse for not interacting with the rest of the world.

22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. 23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror 24 and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25 But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.

James 1:22-25

So you go to church every week.  Maybe you even do a personal Bible study or devotional.  If it doesn’t make any impact on your life… what good is it doing?

I have a terrible visual memory, so this is a great example for me.  When I play Memory with my kids, I tend to lose.  If I look at a picture, I will not be able to tell you details later unless I convert the visual image into words.

This is what reading the Word and then leaving it in the Bible will do to you.  We need to take it with us, repeat it and revisit it throughout the day, even look up the individual words.  We need to:

Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.  Deuteronomy 6:8-9

Each word needs to be looked at intently (with great effort or determination, per Mirriam-Webster).  Then it needs to be acted upon.  If we do that, then what we do will be blessed.

I eventually stopped cooking on Wednesday nights, stopped counting, and stopped doing Powerpoint.  I did praise team and worked with kids, both areas I feel called in.  I stopped feeling stressed, yelling at my kids, and giving a half-way effort.  Instead, I saw the kids I worked with blossom and I felt a peace.  In other words, what I did was blessed.

Now I just need to start doing that in my everyday life.

