The Everyday Girl Guide to: James and My Life (James 2:12-13)

July 3, 2013

James is still stuck on judging… which probably means I’m still judging, even as I’m admonishing you all not to judge.  That seems to be how it works for me.

James 2:12-13

12 Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, 13 because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful. Mercy triumphs over judgment.

I was once a pretty geeky gamer.  (I’m still a geek, but less of a gamer.)  For some reason, these two verses play out like a video game in my head:

There’s an amorphous castle-like goal at the end.  Between the start (me) and this castle, are a hoard of irritating people: that guy that refuses to wear deodorant more than once a week, the lady in the car that just cut me off, my child (or anyone else’s) who came into my presence with an attitude the size of Texas, etc.

As I advance, the irritating people get in my way.  I immediately pull out my trusty Sword of Judging, intending to run them through so I can advance, only to find that the sword bounces off of them and does damage to me.  (You thought that was just a kids’ playground rhyme, didn’t you?)  Before I take more than a few steps, I’m extremely low on hit points… just in time to have the Big Boss Law come stomping in to crush me.

Okay, time to rethink my game plan.

The next time the irritating people get in my way, I pull out the Shield of Mercy.  The guy that doesn’t wear deodorant is working three jobs and sleeping in his car so he can pay child support.  The lady that just cut me off is rushing to the hospital with her four-year-old passed out from a broken arm in the back seat.  My child was bullied at school and is now retaliating against his little sister because at least she can’t fight back.  Sometimes I don’t know why I need to be merciful, but the Shield works even then, gently pushing the Bad Guys out of my way and feeding the shield so it grows ever larger.

By the time I get to the Big Boss of LAW, my Shield of Mercy has grown large enough to completely cover my little animated guy.  The Hammer of Judging bounces harmlessly off my shield.  Before I can even try to figure out which weapon to arm, a Bomb of Grace annihilates the Big Boss in one blow!

Okay, it’s definitely a little geeky and a lot dorky, but you get the picture.  When I go around assaulting people with self-righteous judgement, it comes back to bite me.  In the long run, I’m going to be judged by the same law I’m judging them with.  If, however, I extend mercy to those around me, mercy will be my defense when it’s time for me to be judged.

My animated guy would definitely prefer me to extend a little mercy.

