The Everyday Girl Guide to: Budgeting ala Dave Ramsey

July 13, 2013

I recently posted that I needed to be better about my finances and directed my readers to Dave Ramsey’s site.  Since I’d just touted it, I thought I should pay a visit myself.

I did the free budget, using (mostly) the amounts suggested by the site.   For the record, I put food right at the max percentage and debts a little over (because otherwise I’m never paying those suckers off!).

First of all, it’s going to take a huge step of faith to faithfully tithe an amount that is more than half of my food budget.  Ouch!

Second, I’m not sure how I’ll find a place to live on the housing limitations (and I put housing almost at max), but at least I know now to say no to anything well out of the ballpark.

The big one, though?  Food!  How do you feed three growing boys and two less-voracious females on $60.50 per week??  I have problems feeding just me on that amount.

I’ve already had beans and rice recommended to me.  Beans are not a friend of my ulcerative colitis, but brown rice is.  Maybe I’ll start having brown rice with every meal.  I don’t seem to have any sensitivities for that. 

This might not be the best time to be giving up eggs and dairy, though.  I don’t mind the soy, gluten, corn, and sugar.  I can manage with the peanuts.  But eggs and dairy… those get me through a lot of tight budget days.

Time to get creative.

One Response to “The Everyday Girl Guide to: Budgeting ala Dave Ramsey”

  1. N Says:

    How do your children feel about you having a different last name? Unless your children are very young they will almost certainly have an opinion. I think asking them for their input is just one way of conveying that what they think is important to you. It doesn’t mean you have to follow their wishes –it does mean that if what they’d like is different from what you’re considering, you have some talking to do. How will you feel if your ex remarries and his new wife takes his last name?


Comments are closed.

