The Everyday Girl Guide to: James and My Life (James 4:11-12)

August 5, 2013

My pastor spoke on James 4 yesterday.  I took that as a nudge/ reminder to come off hiatus today.

 

11 Brothers and sisters, do not slander one another. Anyone who speaks against a brother or sister[a] or judges them speaks against the law and judges it. When you judge the law, you are not keeping it, but sitting in judgment on it. 12 There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the one who is able to save and destroy. But you—who are you to judge your neighbor?

James 4:11-12

I have to be really careful with this verse, because it would be so easy to be caught judging myself while I’m talking about not judging.  So, rather than use certain people I know as an example, let’s talk about me.

I used to be perfect.  Not really perfect, but I was doing such a good job that I pretty much thought I was doing better than everyone else.  I didn’t use strong language.  I went to church at least three times a week and served in multiple ministries.  My kids had a Bible story and prayer every day.  I was working my way through one of those “Through the Bible in an Insanely Short Amount of Time” reading plans diligently.  My house was spotless, I was in very good shape… I was perfect.  (We’ll leave out the areas I was failing in, other than one big one.)

I was an excellent judger.

I passed judgment on everyone.  My friends at church were judged because we attended a Southern Baptist church and they’d get together to have a drink.  My sisters were judged for when their children misbehaved.  My coworkers were judged on what they ate and how much they worked out (I worked at the YMCA).

Every time I judged them, I judged myself.  I judged that I was above God’s law and somehow worthy of picking who was naughty and who was nice.

If that was true, why did Christ need to die on the cross?

I’ve since fallen so hard that I wouldn’t dream of judging anyone else… or would I?

I judge friends who post “inappropriate” things on Facebook.  I judge overweight or out-of-shape friends, even though I’m well aware that my current state of health is inspired in part by my chronic illness.  I judge clothing, language…

… maybe I didn’t learn my lesson.

I don’t want to be judged more harshly than I need to be.  I have no delusions that I’m perfect.  So why do I persist in judging?

I think I’ll post this on my computer to remind me not to judge.

