The Everyday Girl Guide to: James and My Life (James 4:13-17)

August 6, 2013

I am so happy to:

a) be at the end of James 4

b) be able to say that I have largely moved past the admonition found here  (largely, not entirely)

 

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast in your arrogant schemes. All such boasting is evil. 17 If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.

James 4:13-17

I think, overall, we tend to put too much stock in our future.  I know I still do it, although not nearly as badly as I used to.

It’s very easy to say what’s going to happen… and then have a Job-like moment when everything goes awry.  Having that plan taken away from you is worse than never having planned in the first place, because you end up somehow feeling like you’ve been cheated.  I used to do that a lot.  I’d make a very detailed calendar, then when something made me late (or, worse, made me absent), I literally fell apart.  I lost my temper.  The world around me experienced Armageddon.

It was not pretty.

If, however, we bank on the idea that God has a plan and He knows better than we do what we need, then running into traffic that makes us miss a big job interview isn’t an occasion for cursing, stress, and high blood pressure.  It’s an occasion to thank Him for keeping you out of a job you’d hate… or an accident that would be far worse than showing up late.

This doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t make plans.  I’m a big fan of a schedule/ calendar/ life plan.  But we should accept that, if things go awry, maybe we didn’t have the perfect plan and it’s okay to take a detour.

So… I make plans.  Then I wait on God to remake them.

