The Everyday Girl Guide to: The Virgin Diet (Falling Off the Wagon)

August 7, 2013

Okay, so I didn’t even make it a full 24 hours before I fell off the no-gluten, no-eggs, no-dairy, no-corn, no-soy, no-sugar, no-peanuts wagon. Aaaaarrrgh.

I can cut out sugar and artificial sweeteners pretty well.  I haven’t purchased processed sugar for about six months now.  I don’t do most forms of corn due to my UC and cut out most soy a while ago.  I can even avoid the gluten and peanuts pretty well.  But eggs and dairy… those are my downfall.

I grew up in family that had ice cream on a daily basis.  I am almost positive that I have dairy sensitivity (and have since I was a baby and threw up my formula all over my mom for months), but I just can’t seem to give it up entirely.  I can skip ice cream (sacrilegious as that seems).  I can substitute almond milk pretty easily.  But why do you have to take my yogurt and cheese from me??

Eggs, on the other hand, I simply enjoy eating and find easy to prepare. Fortunately, I don’t believe those are a trigger for me, so I should get them back… if I ever make it through the initial 21-day phase of this diet.

For now, I’m going to put this back on the shelf.  I’m going to be moving soon and there’s far too little I can do to control my diet some days.  I’ll still try to keep it as clean as I can, but I’m not going to stress the little stuff until I get settled.

This isn’t admitting defeat… it’s regrouping so I have a more defensible position.

One Response to “The Everyday Girl Guide to: The Virgin Diet (Falling Off the Wagon)”

  1. indisgrowingpains Says:

    Definitely missing my yoghurt and cheese too. 😦 Not a big fan of milk or eggs but miss my sugar too especially for that morning tea.


Comments are closed.

