The Everyday Girl Guide to: Post 100 (Persistence and Half-Marathons)

August 9, 2013

Yep, I have put up 100 posts. I’m not sure how many are actually good posts, which bothers the writer-perfectionist in me just a tad, but there are 100 posts.  There’s something to be said for being persistent, right?

 

That said, I have a little less than a month to my first half-marathon… and I’ve never done more than 9 miles straight running.  Mind you, I’m perfectly okay with walking a bit of this; my goal is just to finish.  But I feel like I’ve let something slip through my hands that was perfectly obtainable when I signed up for the half-marathon more than six months ago.  On the other hand, with a 3 1/2 hour daily commute (often spent on a bike), four kids I share custody of, and the occasional flare-up of ulcerative colitis, maybe I should learn to cut myself some slack.

When the half-marathon is finished, I plan on trying out this app, Zombies, Run!, that several of my friends have been touting.  I have a thing for zombies anyway (I’ll explain that in a future post), but anything that motivates me to run as if someone is chasing me is a good thing.  Generally I tend to find a zone and plod along.

So, sometime later in September, look for a true review of running while being chased by phantasm zombies.  Maybe that will be post 200.

