The Everyday Girl Guide to: Saving $200 by 2014 (Green Savings)

September 12, 2013

I’ve kept it kind of quiet here, but I’m a bit of a hippy.  A conservative hippy, but still a hippy.  I take the admonition from Genesis 2:15 and 3:23  to tend to the Earth pretty seriously.  So, how to save money while being more green?

There are some basic ones with utilities.  I don’t have utilities yet, but when I do:

  • Turn off lights.  It should be basic, but people leave lights on all the time.
  • Turn off the water.  We do this, too.  Run the shower too long before we get in; run the tap while we brush our teeth; and keep it running the whole time we wash dishes.  Just turn it off.
  • Use curtains to control temperature.  In winter, open them wide and let in the sunlight, then close them as soon as the sun goes does.  In the summer, keep them closed to keep the heat out.
  • Keep the thermostat set lower than you think you need in the winter and put on some layers.  We always wore sweaters, even in the house, when I lived in Illinois.
  • Keep the thermostat at 78F or higher during the summer.  Use room fans and close off unused rooms whenever possible.
  • Skip on bottled water.  If you can’t stomach tap water, get the larger bottles (25 cents to refill), home delivery if you must, or a good water filter.  (I’m the biggest fan of the water filter.)  There are higher standards for the tap water than the bottled anyway.
  • I’ve said it before, but air-dry clothing.  No  matter what, skip those silly dryer sheets.  You don’t need them.
  • Use natural cleaners (I’ll do more on this later).
  • Carpool, walk, bike, or use public transportation.
  • Walk your errands– or at least group them.  Do your best to not do single errands at a time.
  • Bring your own grocery bags shopping.  Some chains charge for the grocery bags.  If you don’t bring your own, at least reuse the ones you get (poop bags, lunch bags, etc.).

Happily, I do most of these, but there’s always room for improvement.  I did forget my grocery bags last time.  What can you do?

 

