The Everyday Girl Guide to: Feeding America SNAP Challenge (Day 1)

September 24, 2013

So Day 1 is in the bag.  Overall, I got through it alright, although I got very hungry around 5:00 and no amount of carrots was going to change that.  Since I wasn’t going to be able to eat again until 8:30 pm (at a job), I drove through Taco Bell.  You have to understand, I hate Taco Bell.  I call it Taco Hell.  But I was hungry enough and rushed enough to make a bad nutritional choice and drive through there for a cheap Beefy 5-Layer Burrito.  Ugh.  Nasty… and I ate every bite of the pasty white-flour tortilla, gloopy filling (which may or may not have had any meat in it) and the stuff that spilled over my fingers as I tried to not make a mess while I drove.  Note to self:  Taco Bell is a terrible option for driving.

I had a job that required me to purchase food at 8:30.  The food was actually pretty nasty (just like the Taco Bell), but I have to mention it here because it was separate from the money for the challenge.  However, if I were on food stamps, I would be actively trying to get side jobs and free things, so I think this was pretty realistic (at least for me).

Since today is my birthday, I treated myself to a Chai Tea Latte from Starbucks.  Happy birthday to me… and I am now down to $8.73 for the week and it’s only Tuesday.  Yipes.  I may be eating a lot of rice and carrots this weekend.

