Happy vs Unhappy: 46 Days to Change a Habit?

March 5, 2014

I disappeared for a long while.  I’m not even sure if I have any readers left.  But I took a break so I could get some things settled in my life.  I think I’m finally at a place where I can start blogging regularly again.

I was skimming the internet for articles today and found one on the “22 Habits of Unhappy People”.  It was a pretty good list, so I started searching out the habits of happy people as well.  I’ve certainly struggled with joy in the last few years; I’d like to be more of the joyous, energetic person I know I can be and less of the tired, run-down, gloomy person I’ve become.

While taking 21 days to form a habit has been largely disproven as a myth, I thought I’d try taking Lent to find my happiness.  (If I were Stella, I’d be getting my groove back.)  So, each day between now and Easter, I’m going to focus on a different aspect of happiness while still maintaining the ones from before.  After all, this isn’t a set-it-and-forget-it thing.  This is a drill-it-into-my-brain-until-I-remember thing.  I’m starting with today.

Day One: Don’t Complain; Make a Change

If you don’t like something, change it.  If you can’t change it, change your attitude.  Don’t complain.  – Maya Angelou

I am a world-class complainer.  I wrap it up in pretty disguises: that’s so unsafe, (s)he hurt me, it might be better if… .  It’s still complaining.

For the next 46 days, I may not complain.  I may not vent.  I may not whine, whimper, wail, or bemoan.  If I don’t like something, I can work on changing it.  If something goes wrong, I can ask for prayer or assistance.  But this complaining thing?  It’s gone.  Bye-bye.  Hasta la vista, baby without the I’ll be back.  Because, really, what do I have to complain about?  I have a job, a place to live, food to eat, family and friends who love me, and relatively good health.

I am blessed.  If I don’t like it, then I can change it.

 

