Happy vs Unhappy: Retail Therapy

March 7, 2014

When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping.

I am very fortunate.  I do not have the shopping gene most women seem to be born with.  I prefer to avoid malls and going shoe shopping is a violation of my Eighth Amendment rights against cruel and unusual punishment.  That doesn’t mean, though, that I never use retail therapy.

I drive through Starbucks for an iced chai tea latte because I’ve had a hard day.  I buy a book I want to read instead of waiting for the library (or at least paperback) because I want to divert myself from emotions I’d rather not deal with.  Someone hurts my feelings and I go out for a hot fudge brownie ala mode.

None of these are bad things; it’s only bad when I use them to substitute dealing with life.  Nothing I can buy will buy me happiness.  Not a new house.  Not a new car.  Not even a nice new desktop computer and desk so I don’t write sitting hunched over on the floor (although that might bring me better posture).

Time to practice being content with what I have in order to practice happiness.   I don’t have anything at home to make a chai tea latte?  Then I can have peppermint tea and I’ll still be fine (and not put on a few pounds by the end of the week).  I don’t have a computer desk?  Then I should spend a little more time away from the computer– it’s better for my eyes, too.

I’m going to practice being content with what I have and not buying anything outside of necessities for the next week.  Hold me accountable!

Contentment isn’t about getting what you want, but about being happy with what you have.

Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.  – Hebrews 13:5

