The Everyday Girl Guide to: Happiness (Setting Goals)

May 1, 2014

“Where there is no vision, the people perish…”

Proverbs 29:18a

It’s easy to go through life without a plan, just take every day as it comes.  But is it easy to be happy without a plan.

Some would say yes.  For me, at least, the answer is no.  I need a roadmap.  It’s okay to take a side trip here and there, but I need a destination.  Even when I exercise I prefer a purpose to the exercise.  I bike TO somewhere.  I run to beat a time.  I play a sport to win.  I’m not very good at just meandering through.

My first step in happiness is to set a goal for each dimension.  I  used to always just set a long-term goal.  Those are great, but they don’t give a sense of fulfillment.  Now I set three kinds of goals:

  1. Long-term: 5 years or more.  These are the road map goals.  This is where I’m going.
  2. Medium-term: 1 year.  These are my stops along the way.  It’s kind of like having a hotel reservation.
  3. Short-term: 3 months.  These are the sights I’m going to see along the way.  It gives me a sense of “I did that!” without having to wait for the big “I got there!”

My goal over the next nine days is to figure out three goals for each time period for each dimension.  That sounds like a lot of work, but it will give  me a road map for where I’m going.

I will reassess my goals every three months.

I will remember this is not a competition.  I don’t have to do it perfectly to get it done.

Goals are to give me a plan, not to limit my purpose.

Why don’t you get ready to set your own goals?  Let’s do this together.

