Everyday Girl Guide to: Happiness (Social Assessment)

May 6, 2014

I’m not going to come out well in today’s assessment.  I know this.  I’m an introvert.  I’ve lost many of my “in person” friends in my many moves over the past 5 1/2 years.  I have friends, but they’re largely online, many of them states or countries away.

The UCR Wellness Center lists these items under it social assessment:

  • Do I plan time to be with my family and friends?  My kids, yes.  This takes priority over every other thing in my life.  Friends… um, working on it?
  • Do I enjoy the time I spend with others?  Yes, actually.  I’m a true introvert, so people wear me out over time, but I still really enjoy being around them.  I love heart-to-heart talks and fun activities.  I just don’t do them much.
  • Are my relationships with others positive and rewarding?  Ouch.  Let’s see.  Failed marriage.  Failed engagement.  Friend who blocked me from his life.  Um… we’ll have to say working on it.
  • Do I explore diversity by interacting with people of other cultures, etc.?   Yes.  I don’t have a huge choice, given that I’m in metropolitan Los Angeles, but I’ve always enjoyed meeting and getting to know people who were “different” than I am.  I love cultures and I’m a writer, so it’s good background.  Anyway, people are just interesting.

So… I didn’t do quite as poorly as I thought I would, but I’m still not proud of my “score”.  Here are my goals:

Short-Term (3 Months)

* Interact with people (outside of my kids) on a weekly basis.  If I can’t get together with established friends, go outside my comfort zone and interact with strangers.

* Work on having positive, rewarding relationships.  For my three-month goal, I’m going to just figure out what that is.  I may blog it; it may turn out to be too personal.  We’ll see.

* Cultivate the friendships I already have.  Even if they’re “only Facebook” friends, take time to find out real things about their lives.

Mid-Term (1 Year)

* Grow at least three relationships (outside of my kids and work).

* Heal broken relationships if I can (maybe through an AA-type action?).

* Schedule weekly activities with others.  Play nice.

Long-Term (5 Years +)

I honestly don’t know what to put under long-term.  Maybe I will after I’ve worked on this for a while.  For now, I’m going to leave this area as one needing immediate attention.

How did your assessment go?  Any goals you want to share?

